

## Government of West Bengal Office of the Commissioner of Police Howrah

## ORDER

WHEREAS information has been received from credible sources that violent demonstrations are likely to take place resulting in large scale disturbance of the public tranquility and breach of the peace in the area mentioned in the schedule below (of the Shibpur Police Station) in the town of Howrah (hereinafter referred to as the said areas).

And

WHEREAS I, Praveen Kumar Tripathi, Commissioner of Police, Howrah being the Executive Magistrate for the Metropolitan area of Howrah, have been specially empowered by the State Government vide Home (Police) Department Order No.-3636-PL/PB/14M-138/04 dt. 26.08.11 to act under the Section 144 of the said Code of Criminal Procedure, 1973 (Act 2 of 1974) presently Section 163 of the Bharatiya Nagarik Suraksha Sanhita, 2023 (Act. 46 of 2023).

And

WHEREAS in my opinion, there is sufficient ground for proceeding under the said Section for immediate prevention of disturbances of the public tranquility and breach of peace within the said area in the town of Howrah.

And

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred by Sub-Section (1) of section 163 of the Bharatiya Nagarik Suraksha Sanhita, 2023 (Act. 46 of 2023) read with the sub-section (3) of the said section, I, Praveen Kumar Tripathi, Commissioner of Police, Howrah and Executive Magistrate for the Metropolitan area of Howrah, do hereby prohibit for the period of 60 (sixty) days from the **9<sup>th</sup> July, 2024 to 06<sup>th</sup> September, 2024** until further orders, any assembly of 05 (five) or more persons in procession or the carrying of any lathi or other dangerous weapons or the doing of any act which is likely to cause disturbances to the public tranquility and breach of the peace within the said area in the town of Howrah.

### The Schedule

### The area within the jurisdiction of Shibpur Police Station in the town of Howrah bounded -

 On the North by

 Haradeb Bhattacharyay Road upto and including Mandirtala Bus Stand.

 On the East by

 Khetro Banerjee Road, Nabin Banerjee Lane, A K Roy Chowdhury Lane and Mollapara Lane upto G T Road crossing including Kazipara Morh. Hiralal Banerjee Road, Dinu Master Lane, Mollahpara Lane upto G.T. Road Crossing (D.B. College), Danesh Mollah Lane upto G T Road crossing.

 On the West by

 K. M. Banerjee Road, Circular 2<sup>nd</sup> Bye Lane, Seikhpara, Kona Expressway upto Carry Road crossing. K. M. Banerjee Lane, Sarat Chatterjee Road upto old 58 Bus stand.

 On the South by

 Tarapada Chatterjee Road, Upen Chatterjee Road upto Betaitala More.

# All the ramps of Vidyasagar Setu on Howrah side.

 Explanation - In this order, the Town of Howrah means the town of Howrah as defined in Section 2(15) and Schedule - I of the Howrah Municipal Corporation Act, 1980 (Act of 29 of 1980).

Given under my hand and seal this day, the 06th July, 2024.

Sd/-(Praveen Kumar Tripathi) Commissioner of Police, Howrah. & Executive Magistrate for the Metropolitan area of Howrah.

## Government of West Bengal Office of the Commissioner of Police, Howrah 28 Nityadhan Mukherjee Road New Hut Complex, Howrah- 711101

### **IMMEDIATE/BY SPECIAL MESSENGER**

#### Memo No. 755 (60)/CP, HPC

Date - 06/07/2024

Copy forwarded to :

- 1. The Addl. Chief Secretary, Home Department, Govt. of West Bengal, Nabanna, 325, Sarat Chatterjee Road, Shibpur, Howrah-711102.
- 2. The Director General & Inspector General of Police, West Bengal, Nabanna, 325, Sarat Chatterjee Road, Shibpur, Howrah-711102.
- 3. The Addl. Director General of Police, Intelligence Branch, West Bengal.
- 4. The Commissioner of Police, Kolkata.
- 5. The Addl. Director General of Police, Law and Order, West Bengal.

For kind information ----

- 6. The News Editor, All India Radio, Eden Gardens, Kolkata, for immediate announcement in the A.I.R.
- 7. The Director, Dooradarshan Kendra, Kolkata, Dooradarshan Bhavan, Golf Green, Kolkata 45 for immediate announcement.
- 8. The Director, Department of I & C.A., Govt. of West Bengal, Nabanna for immediate publication in all the leading Newspapers including Hindi.
- 9. The Superintendent, Government Printing, West Bengal, Alipore, Kolkata for publication in an extra ordinary issue of the Kolkata Gazette.
- 10. The District Magistrate, Howrah.
- 11. The Jt. Commissioner of Police, Howrah.
- 12. The Commissioner, Howrah Municipal Corporation.
- 13. DC, HQ/ DC, SB/ DC, North/ DC, Central/ DC, South/ DC, Traffic/DC, DD of Howrah Police Commissionerate.

### DC HQ, HPC is requested to Publish the same in the Howrah Police Gazette.

- 14. The ADCP, Special Branch / ADCP, South Division / ADCP, Central, Howrah Police Commissionerate.
- 15. All Assistant Commissioners of Police, Howrah Police Commissionerate.
- 16. The Officers-in-Charge of all Police Stations of Howrah Police Commissionerate.
- 17. The Inspectors-in-Charge of all Traffic Guards of Howrah Police Commissionerate.
- 18. The Officer-in-Charge, Control Room / CCRB Howrah.

---- for information & necessary action.

Sd/-(Praveen Kumar Tripathi) Commissioner of Police, Howrah. & Executive Magistrate for the Metropolitan area of Howrah.